Why This Kacey Musgraves Song Speaks to Me Like No Other

Yet another day of feeling happy and sad at the same time.

Fidel Tan
4 min readDec 31, 2021
Photo by Anthony Tori on Unsplash

I love attention. It’s a total serotonin boost for me when people validate my opinions and ideas. I get a kick from people acknowledging my worth and telling me I mean something to them. But if there’s something I love more than receiving attention, it’s giving my attention to other people. I enjoy listening to others and empathizing with their feelings. I strive to make people feel understood, because I know how lonely it can get when it feels like nobody knows you. This act of giving is not for naught; it often comes back around with something rewarding for the self. In my case, conversations help me figure out what I’m lacking in and inspire me to work on my flaws.

And that’s why I keep searching for genuine human connections. It’s not easy to allow myself to be vulnerable when meeting people, again and again. A lot of things get in the way — anxiety, introversion, nervousness, cynicism... I’m mostly left defeated, but I keep trying because I know that this is my way of surviving. I’m a social creature after all, and these mortal interactions hold me together and keep me sane. Socializing is like a game to me. Sometimes I lose, but I know these losses will eventually pave the way for a big win. There’s a lot of apprehension…

--

--

Fidel Tan

Music and film enthusiast from Singapore. I write about all things pop culture.